Random Reads #2: Secrets for the Mad by Dodie Clark

Secrets for the Mad

Secrets for the Mad by Dodie Clark

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First of all, I’d like to congratulate myself for finishing this book I got during Manila International Book Fair last month (it was a gift). Also, I’d been eyeing this book for, like, months in the bookstores before I finally had it in my hands, and managed to read a few pages.

The photographs and colored pages of songs captured my attention, yes, but I didn’t know that this book will make me cry my heart out upon reading page by page.

This is an open door to dodie’s life, and I have to warn you, you gotta be prepared because once you’re inside there’s no turning back. The book talks about her childhood, her insecurities, her heartbreaks, her mental health, hell, there’s even pages dedicated for cooking recipes. There’s a whole lot of confessions and feelings we can all relate into (and what makes us human), there are chunks of life lessons, of innocence, of kindness, a hole filled with darkness, madness, and insecurities, of sadness and loss, and I love the book for everything in it because these are the thing that make us real. That makes us human.

Much love and appreciation for dodie, her brave self, for sharing all of these to people.

Author: agirlwithasaga

i'd like to think there's a little spring that blooms within me even when it's raining.

Leave a comment